Stay at home mom vs. Working outside the home: Pouring yourself out for the Lord

I am blessed to be able to stay at home with my two girls. It is something I have always wanted to do. But it is hard. Some days I don’t feel like I get anything done, others I get stuck in the rut of routine. Other days we have amazing days, going to the park, or the pool. But I feel like one thing I am not is consistent.

It is my goal to every day bring up Jesus, showing them my love for the Lord and explaining spiritual things to them. But most of the time how does that look? A hurried prayer at dinner because I starve them. I mean really, who needs to eat three full meals and about half a dozen snacks?  Or bribing them to recite a few verses with M&Ms.

What gets me is that there are moms on both sides that look down at the other. I always feel like I have to word it carefully when I ask another mom I meet if they work outside the home, because I don’t want to offend anyone.

But both sides are doing what they feel called to do. Working moms, especially single moms tug at my heart because it is so hard to balance. Responsibilities in the home, the workplace and feeling torn between the two.

On my part, sometimes I feel like I am not making a difference. That I am not bringing money into the home so therefore I am not of as much value. There is a stigma on both sides. “I can’t believe they give their kids for someone else to raise.” “I can’t believe that they have a degree and they aren’t using it. What a waste” “WHAT did you do all day?”

But both have value. We need strong christian women in the work place reaching out to others, we need strong christian women in day cares caring for our little ones, we need moms staying at home to build into the other moms who stay at home. We all have eternal value.

We are called to make a difference where we are. Jesus wants us to look around and minister to the hurting people around us. To see others as people in need of a savior and he wants to use us to plant those seeds. Whether it is the woman in the cubicle next to you, or the precious child who needs to hear that Jesus wants to be their forever friend, or a lonely stay at home mom at the park.

Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. Galatians 6:9

Jesus went through all the towns and villages, teaching in their synagogues, proclaiming the good news of the kingdom and healing every disease and sickness. 36When he saw the crowds, he had compassion on them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd. 37 Then he said to his disciples, “The harvest is plentiful but the workers are few. 38 Ask the Lord of the harvest, therefore, to send out workers into his harvest field.” Matthew 9: 36-38

I heard Beth Moore talk just last night about in Isaiah 58 that God calls us to pour ourselves out and there are promises attached. I thought about a bible study leader who visits a nursing home every other week, or the food pantry in our community or some other opportunity with our church that can make us more others focused and a chance to do those works that God has prepared in advance for us to do.

“Is not this the kind of fasting I have chosen:
to loose the chains of injustice
    and untie the cords of the yoke,
to set the oppressed free
    and break every yoke?
Is it not to share your food with the hungry
    and to provide the poor wanderer with shelter—
when you see the naked, to clothe them,
    and not to turn away from your own flesh and blood?
Then your light will break forth like the dawn,
    and your healing will quickly appear;
then your righteousness[a] will go before you,
    and the glory of the Lord will be your rear guard.
Then you will call, and the Lord will answer;
    you will cry for help, and he will say: Here am I.

“If you do away with the yoke of oppression,
    with the pointing finger and malicious talk,
10 and if you spend yourselves in behalf of the hungry
    and satisfy the needs of the oppressed,
then your light will rise in the darkness,
    and your night will become like the noonday.
11 The Lord will guide you always;
    he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land
    and will strengthen your frame.
You will be like a well-watered garden,
    like a spring whose waters never fail. Isaiah 58:6-11

We can make a difference, with God guiding us on what to do, who to reach out to, and finding those acts of kindness and goodness he wants us to do.

For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.  Ephesians 2:10

Leave a Reply

