Spiritual Gifts

Romans 12 New International Version (NIV)  Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship. Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will. For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you. For just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, so in Christ we, though many, form one body, and each member belongs to all the others. We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us. If your gift is prophesying, then prophesy in accordance with your[a] faith; if it is serving, then serve; if it is teaching, then teach; if it is to encourage, then give encouragement; if it is giving, then give generously; if it is to lead,[b] do it diligently; if it is to show mercy, do it cheerfully.

Also see 1 Corinthians 12 if you want to read more about spiritual gifts.

   It was truly a blessing to receive my gifts as a part of Disciple, the 34 week study of the bible. We talked about spiritual gifts and then we all shared with one another what we thought their gifts were and where we could see them serving. We were to write up a summary and intention of where to serve, and I thought that I would share.

I thought that I was a helper, and I do feel like I am in a good place with being a coach in the nursery at this point in my life. There, I get to hold precious babies, and I get a chance to listen to, and have conversations with a small group of women. I feel like I am in a place now where God wants me to be. I have been a co-leader of several small groups and none of them worked out, because I think that while God was pleased with my willingness to fill a need, it just wasn’t exactly the place he wanted me. Now, even with my social anxiety, I feel equipped to talk to the parents and interact with the sweet women who serve with me. I may worry some at home about what people think of me, and worrying that I never know what to say to others, but I totally feel the Holy Spirit take over once I am there.

Along with my social anxiety, I also deal with some other mood and pain disorders, and those, along with some bad relationships in high school and college have really warped my self-esteem. So to hear what my girlfriends had to say about my spiritual gifts was really from God, and I am glad that Sara had us to write something because I will always have these pieces of paper knowing what the people that God brought together to be my friends, confidants, and iron sharpening iron for these 9 months really think about me.

I heard that I am a good fit with the spiritual gift of helper, that I have great organizational skills, attention to detail, precision in note taking. With these skills they thought I might be good at fundraising, record keeping or scheduling/planning. I also heard that I was a healer, that I am stronger than I think. That I could use my testimony with my difficulties with Katie’s behavior and learning struggles to help other moms, to be a good listener to them. That I am sympathetic and empathetic and being open and sharing my story makes me relatable. That I could be a good resource to others who are grieving since I have been through the suicide of my dad, and helping my mom heal. I heard that I might be good at helping to lead teens/tweens or older kids.

I heard that I am a rockstar, not to doubt or discredit myself. That I am wonderful right hand woman. I was told that they overheard my kids really building one another up and encouraging each other, and that was an outflow of my example. I heard that I had a caring attitude, a sacrificial nature and that I am loyal.

Another suggestion was to help or form support group, possible foster parents, other moms with kids struggling at school, or others dealing with grief.

Based on what I have heard and felt led by God, I am going to continue to serve in the nursery. But I will be more aware of those who may be struggling with grief, depression issues, or kids having trouble at school, and be intentional with them. Being an ear to listen, as well as share the resources that I have compiled. I will be aware of needs for someone to help organize or record keeping and offer my assistance if I can.

   I would encourage you and a few friends to do this, because while it can be embarrassing, it is also invaluable to hear what others think about your strengths and the ideas they may have about where to use your gifts.

Leave a Reply

